2020-2021 MARYLAND TEACHERS OF THE YEAR

The Baltimore Sun Media Group proudly joins the Maryland State Department of Education, its sponsors and the local school systems in congratulating these outstanding teachers and their schools. These candidates are nominated by colleagues, supervisors, parents and community members and selected by their local school systems for their dedication, initiative, creativity and superior teaching abilities.

On October 8, 2020, one winner will be named the 2021 Maryland Teacher of the Year and will serve as Maryland's teacher ambassador as well as its candidate for National Teacher of the Year. All 24 Teachers of the Year will receive gifts and prizes and the Maryland Teacher of the Year winner will be awarded the gift of a new car.



Stacey Bradley
South Penn Elementary School
Reading, Grades 1-5
Allegany County



Emily Davis Brooklyn Park Middle School English Language Arts, Grades 6-7 Anne Arundel County



Wyatt Oroke
City Springs Elementary
Middle School
English Language Arts,
Grades 7-8
Baltimore City



Robert Runk
Parkville Middle School
Special Education,
Grades 6-8
Baltimore County



Caitlin Fregelette
Calvert High School
Physical Education
and Health, Grades 9-12
Calvert County



Shaughnessy Harris
Preston Elementary School
Pre-Kindergarten
Caroline County



Jena Ehmann Winfield Elementary School Reading Specialist, Grades Pre K-5 Carroll County



Chelsea Jones Elkton Middle School Science, Grade 7 Cecil County



James E. Ball North Point High School Art, Grades 9-12 Charles County



Cherie Robinson
Dorchester Career &
Technology Center
Teacher Academy of MD,
Grades 11-12
Dorchester County



Jill McWilliams Walkersville Elementary School Pre - Kindergarten Frederick County



Kista K. Powell
Northern Garrett High School
PLTW Biomedical Science/
Allied Health
Grades 10-12
Garrett County



Elizabeth White
Harford Technical High School
History/Social Science,
Grades 10-12
Harford County



Jerome Pickens
Bryant Woods
Elementary School
Grade 5
Howard County



Angela Lins Galena Elementary School Grade 2 Kent County



Inge M. Chichester Sligo Middle School Social Science, Grade 7 Montgomery County



Mary Piccirilli
Cooper Lane
Elementary School
Grade 3
Prince George's County



Amber K. Wright Kent Island High School Dance, Grades, 9-12 Queen Anne's County



Deaneth Brown-Taylor Spring Ridge Middle School English Language Arts, Grade 8 St. Mary's County



Lauren Beauchamp Carter G. Woodson Elementary School Kindergarten Somerset County



David Cherry
Easton High School
Mathematics, Grades, 9-12
Talbot County



Christine Hurley Boonsboro Middle School Library Media, Grades 6-8 Washington County



Hemalatha Bhaskaran James M. Bennett High School Science, Grades 9-12 Wicomico County



Christina McQuaid Pocomoke Middle School English Language Arts, Grade 5 Worchester County

The 2021 Maryland Teacher of the Year will be announced on the air in a 30 minute Teacher of the Year Special on Maryland Public Television (MPT2) on October 8, 2020 from 8:00 pm to 8:30 pm and also the same time that evening on YouTube.com MarylandPublicTV.

https://youtu.be/o-Ao6G_OrFk

The Maryland Teacher of the Year is sponsored by the Maryland State Department of Education with support from Baltimore Sun Media and the following:

Presenting Sponsors: Comcast, the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association, McDonald's® Family Restaurants of Baltimore,

Northrop Grumman Corporation and SMART Technologies

Platinum Sponsors: NTA Life/Horace Mann, MPT and Whiting-Turner Contracting Company

Gold Sponsors: Baltimore Sun Media, Bank of America, Lifetouch Photography, Maryland State Education Association and WJZ 13













